PA/Carer/Support Worker for a young adult 23 years old in Eastleigh

Employer
Ask Jules
Location
Eastleigh, UK
Salary
Competitive
Closing date
14 Oct 2020

View more

Sector
Healthcare
Contract Type
Permanent
You need to sign in or create an account to save a job.
PA/Carer/Support Worker for a young adult 23 years old in Eastleigh

AskJules are agents for university students with physical disabilities who choose to employ Personal Assistants to provide their student support and personal care.

Start: October / November 2020

Personal care and companionship for a young adult 23 years old who lives at home with his parents and works part-time for a local charity.

About our Client:

I have been living with my parents in Eastleigh since summer 2018, after graduating with a Journalism degree at the University of Winchester.

At the moment I am working three days a week for a charity in Southampton that supports Disabled People.

With my complex physical condition, Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, I need assistance with everyday tasks such as going to the toilet, showering, cooking food and leg exercises. I am permanently in a powered wheelchair.

Currently I am looking for someone who can support me at the weekends and occasionally when my other carers are unavailable.

There is no prior care experience required and all training will be given.

My interests include; reading books, listening to music, playing board games, watching and keeping up to date with my football team Stoke City, eating out at pubs and restaurants, spending time with my family and travelling to different places.

The role would be ideal for someone with similar interests to mine, has availability at weekends and who lives within 30 minutes driving distance of Eastleigh where I live.

I would describe myself as a quiet but friendly person who is easy to get on with and likes to be as independent as possible. You will sometimes be required to drive me to work or out and about at the weekend, depending on what I want to do - e.g. trips into town, going to the cinema, seeing friends.

About the job:

The ideal applicant will be responsible, confident and sociable. You must hold a full clean UK driving licence as you will often have to drive my wheelchair adapted vehicle.

So I can be sure you can get to my house when I need you (which might be an antisocial hour) it is preferable that you can travel by car.

I do enjoy having my own space and free time, so you will need to be prepared to occupy yourself when I do not require assistance.

As you will be spending time with me while at home, getting to know my family and engaging with them is also an important part of the role.

You would often be required at late notice so it is important to be as flexible as possible.

Skills required for this job are:
  • A mature attitude to the job
  • Good organisational skills and being able to work from your own initiative
  • Carrying out tasks as instructed
  • Adaptable to what my needs are
  • Able to deal with unexpected problems
  • A full clean UK driving licence
  • Good punctuality

Rate of Pay:
  • 12 per hour
  • Hours will be flexible but mostly during the day
  • Food is not provided

About You

You are unlikely to have experience in the aspects of my care therefore training on my particular needs is provided.

You will need to be;

·Physically fit, calm, quick to learn new skills, patient and caring

·Understanding and appreciative of my specific care needs

·Someone with a good sense of humour and interesting personality

·Someone who can be a friend as well as a carer

·Excellent hearing and communication skills

·Fluent in English

·Be clean and tidy in both your appearance and manner (important to be a non-smoker)

·Adaptable if starting or finishing times change at late notice

PA / Carer / Support Worker for a young adult 23 years old Eastleigh

This job was originally posted as www.totaljobs.com/job/90708676
You need to sign in or create an account to save a job.

Get job alerts

Create a job alert and receive personalised job recommendations straight to your inbox.

Create alert